Arcane and murky world

Tweeting and retweeting and generally tinkering about seems to take an awful long time, and there’s the lurking feeling that it’s frittering away the day, when I should be actually doing something productive.

And yet there are always things to finish off and check and recheck.  And I feel I need to be polite, thank people individually for following me, and also for the RTs.

What strikes me most about the world of Twitter is the vast size of it.  So many people in so many different rooms around the world are tapping away at computers, writing their books, tweeting about them, reading other people’s work and so on, it’s hard to think of the scale of it all.

For about a year I have been planning to re-floor my two downstairs rooms, and this last week I finally did it, and it’s extremely nice not to have to walk on bare boards for a change – my cats certainly appreciate it.

As for Twitter and book marketing, Martin Johnson has been helping me a lot .  Since I write articles for Kent Life magazine, when I realised he lived in Tunbridge Wells, Kent (England) he gave me a really good interview for the magazine, giving a writer’s insight into Tunbridge Wells. Not so strange that a fine writer has settled near the town he’s following a long tradition: Thackeray (who wrote Vanity Fair) lived in what is now a Michelin starred restaurant overlooking a particularly green part of Tunbridge Wells, what’s more Tunbridge Wells provides plenty of scope for a writer’s imagination.  A while ago I came across a fantastically talented stained glass artists, Stoney Parsons, who lives just outside Tunbridge Wells, and the well-known  actress Louise Jameson (Bergerac, Dr Who and Doc Martin) lives there too. The town is truly a Mecca for creative people.

It has always struck me in life that it’s nearly always impossible to repay those who have actually helped you.  You can try, but in practise all you can usually do is help other people, who, in turn, cannot pay you back.  I think that the best way to look at things is to  accept help with thanks when it is offered, and help anyone else you can, whenever and wherever you can.

Darcia Helle kindly reviewed my book for Smashwords , as did a couple of other people on Amazon, so that is a good start.  I seem to have sold 13 copies on Amazon and 5 on Smash words.  I’ve tried the ‘clopouon’ method for Smashwords, where you’re allowed to sell it free for a limited period, and it does seem to work.   Darcia recommended my book for Goodreads, and I have next to look into Goodreads.

And I had the pleasure of writing a revue for Maria Savva’s Haunted, a thriller about a repentant murderer, a chilling insight into his ghastly frame of mind and his descent into madness.

So to thank my twitter friends, who all have wonderful blogs and have been helping me so much during the past weeks:

@JennieOrbell

@DarciaHelle

@johnson_mjj

@TerryTyler4

@Maria_Savva

@rachaelhale1

@T_Thurai

All of whom have shone powerful spotlights into the arcane and murky world of Twitter.

9 thoughts on “Arcane and murky world

  1. LOL, Twitter does seem like an arcane and murky place at times, especially when you’re new to it! It helps when you start connecting with people that you have something in common with, which is why it’s a good thing that us writers should stay connected. Thanks for your mention of Haunted here and for your awesome support on Twitter. I’m pleased to hear your book is doing well 🙂

    Like

  2. I can relate to everything you say, Geoffrey. Self promotion is horribly time consuming. Fortunately there are some lovely, helpful people out there in the ‘ twitter writing world’. I have always found pleasure in helping others and thankfully there are people out there with the same mindset. And the others? I think they are best ignored!

    Like

  3. Everyone has their own way of helping each other, and some do it more than others – like, ahem, Maria Savva, who I’ve had to tick off for helping to promote other people’s work rather than her own, eh, Maria! Everyone does their bit in different ways; mine is mostly by retweeting and helping with free promotions, as I’m not very into the blogging scene. It does follow that if you put a fair bit in then you’ll get a few more legs up yourself, as it were. I did a free promotion at the beginning of the month. One person who was doing one at the same time I retweeted and told her I was doing one too, saying that I’d be most appreciative of some RTs back. She ignored my request, and ditto another writer who I’ve helped a lot in the past but failed to RT my promotion, though I asked her politely. Guess who I won’t ever be RTing again! Their loss, as I do 2 or 3 RT sessions a day, and have over 8K followers, so my reach is pretty big!

    Everyone has the people who go the extra mile for them; the main thing is that you appreciate it and say thanks. Then you can go the extra mile for someone else!

    Like

    1. LOL, I know; I’m terrible at self-promotion, and would rather leave it to others. I prefer helping to promote other people’s work, for fear of coming across as a spammer if I promote my own stuff. I know what you mean though, Terry. I think you & Susan Buchanan are great at promoting your own stuff and I will have to try to learn from you 🙂

      Like

      1. Ahhhh! You go too far the other way, honey!! I struggle to find something to RT for you sometimes, and it was a while before I even knew you wrote novels at all, let alone their names! If you do loads of RTs for people and help them, as you do more than most, you can stick interesting tweets out about your own books without offending anyone – everyone else does! Hell, they can always unfollow you!

        I don’t get unfollowed much… I reckon 100 RTs to 4 tweets about my own book last of all is a pretty reasonable ratio! Alas, if you don’t stick them out there, no-one will know about them – as I’m trying to impress upon Geoff, too!!

        Believe me, it really goes against the grain, all this self-promote stuff, for me, too. It’s not very English, is it???! I also think it’s kinda uncool – I hate shoving things in people’s faces! But I’ve hardened to it. Look at it this way – if you think of a way to tweet your book that will make it appealing to others, you’re doing them a nice favour by letting them know about it, ha ha!!!!

        In the meantime, thanks for all you do -again!! xx

        Like

  4. thanks Terry, wise words as always. I feel that you, Maria and Martin are kindred spirits in that you like to help people – the best way to be. Terry if I ever ignore one of your RT requests it’ll be because I didn;t log on that day, things like that can always be an oversight I suppose, not a deliberate lack of help

    Like

  5. I guess we’re all on Twitter to promote our own work first and foremost. However, the way the thing works is that if you’re totally selfish and don’t choose to help anyone else you’ll soon find the thing completely frustrating. It’s a great big world and my success (hoped for! ) is not in any way diminished by someone else’s good fortune or achievements. Personally, I always wish I read faster so that I could do more indie book reviews. I have a lot of research on at the moment ( and as you know some family stuff) which is slowing me down but I aim to do one every six weeks – still not always possible though! But I try not to make a promise I can’t keep.

    Thanks again for the lovely piece you did about me in Kent Life and for all the generous RTs you’ve done on my behalf. I still find myself scrolling for a long time before I can find something of yours to RT! I feel like a teacher writing a school report, “Geoffrey must try harder to promote himself!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

