Why I decided to self publish

Why did I decide to self publish?

Rock’n’Roll Suicide is probably the tenth or eleventh novel that I completed – not counting the rubbish starts I made and abandoned. For several years I’ve been writing crime fiction in spare time, sending it to agents, with just cold rejection slips or mildly encouraging notes in reply.

Then in 2004 my novel Deadly Contact was shortlisted for the Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger. I went to the dinner in London, thought I’d really made it. I didn’t win the dagger, but did meet a couple of agents. However it all came to nothing, despite sending the samples to about 25 agents. But undaunted I went on writing, thinking this next novel will be better than the last, something I always say to myself.

Finally the novel I finshed last year, Doppelganger, got some attention. Three agents asked for the full m/s. I sent it with hope. And it was rejected by all three, all giving different reasons. A publisher (Tindal Street) also called up the full m/s (after I’d waited 9 months). They rejected it after another three months and never even gave me a reason, having held it for a year.

So, as I said earlier, after meeting Rachael Hale and Truda Thurai at a dinner, I looked into publishing on Kindle and went ahead.

Now I’m trying to learn how to sell my book.

I think I saw the light when hearing a talk by Lauren Parsons, of Legend Press. She said that even if they published an author, they expected them to do their own publicity – they wanted to know if they had a web presence.

Despite being a freelance journalist who has written five nonfiction titles, published by Crowood Press, I still feel as if I’m a novice at all this.

But I have made ‘Tweet’ friends of several kind people, notably, as I said in my last blog, Martin Johnson and Terry Tyler, as well as Darcia Helle from America, who kindly bought my book, having noticed a tweet about it and also RJ McDonnell, who did the same.

So I plan to do my best to try and publicise Rock’n’Roll Suicide, while at the same time trying to help anyone I come across along the way, by retweeting, getting their books, writing reviews.

As I see it, if by some remote chance a publisher makes an offer, I’ve lost nothing – in fact they would rather the book was ‘out there’, at least read by someone.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B009XA5SQ4

and it’s free at smashwords until 30 November, just quote LL59Y https://smashwords.com/profile/view/gdwest

And please take a look at my new Twitter friends’ books:

Martin Johnson: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Niedermayer-Hart-ebook/dp/B007BVA2AO/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1353070012&sr=1-1

Terry Tyler: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dream-On-ebook/dp/B0094WNOF8/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1353070072&sr=1-1

Darcia Helle: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Enemies-and-Playmates-ebook/dp/B002ECEKBW/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1353070128&sr=1-1

RJ McDonnell: http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Concert-Killer-R-McDonnell/dp/0981491456/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1353070216&sr=1-1-catcorr

2 thoughts on “Why I decided to self publish

  1. Everything that you say here is true and I think you made exactly the right move by self publishing. I have two novels and a short story compilation on Amazon and although it is definitely hard and time consuming work – it is fun. And when a copy sells! Well, that makes it all worthwhile. Good luck. I wish you well and many, many sold copies.

    Like

  2. What a nice friendly comment Jenny, thanks for making me feel welcome. I read your blog, and understand how frustrated you must be doing less active work. Am going to look at your books

    Like

Leave a Reply

